Lexington Philharmonic presents "Continuous Variation"

Event Date(s)
Ticket Price
Tickets: $25 - $75 | Youth (17 & under) and Students: $11
Poster Image


presented by
Lexington Philharmonic
Saturday, February 18, 2023 | 7:30 PM
Singletary Center for the Arts

405 Rose St.
Lexington, KY 40508

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich - Symphony No. 1: Three Movements for Orchestra
Béla Bartók - Viola Concerto (Serly Edition)
    Jordan Bak, viola 
Edward Elgar - Enigma Variations

Continuous Variation, at the Singletary Center for the Arts, derives its name from a technique used by composer Ellen Taaffe Zwilich in her Symphony No. 1, a work which demonstrates the potential of a handful of ideas to develop into new material. This piece was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 1983, making Zwillich the first female composer to receive this esteemed prize. Violist Jordan Bak joins LexPhil to perform Béla Bartók’s Viola Concerto, left unfinished at his death and completed by Tibor Serly from sketches, memories and ideas. The evening concludes with Edward Elgar's Enigma Variations, composed of fourteen variations on an original theme each representing one of Elgar's close friends.

Tickets: $25 - $75 | Youth (17 & under) and Students: $11

Created 07/05/2022
Last Updated 02/10/2023