College of Fine Arts

Talking with Dr. Broadway - alum Kristin Stultz Pressley

A native of Greenup County, Kentucky, she earned her graduate degrees from the University of Kentucky (Master of Arts in Theatre, 2005) and the University of Georgia (Doctor of Philosophy in Theatre, 2011) and subsequently taught Theatre courses at Presbyterian College (Clinton, SC) and Furman University (Greenville, SC).

From UK to the UK: Recent Grad Reginald Smith Jr. to Represent US in BBC Cardiff Singer of the World

By Whitney Hale

As part of the prestigious vocal competition in classical music, Smith will compete against 15 of the world’s most outstanding rising stars in international opera and song on BBC TV, radio and iPlayer beginning June 12.

Winners Announced in Inaugural Cornerstone Call For Art

By Ryan Girves, UKNow, with additions from CFA

Sixty-four individual artists from across the Commonwealth and beyond submitted more than 70 pieces of artwork. 

The jury of UK faculty, staff and community members included CFA representation by assistant dean Belinda Rubio and Department of Theatre and Dance faculty Yoon Bae.

Creative Arts LLP Helps Students Learn the Value of Networking and Collaboration

By Genesis Lorjuste

Peer mentor Caitlin Flemm has been working on a collaborative project featuring vocalists, instrumentalists, dancers, and highlights from LLP events. “We are the World 25” started as a mini project to keep LLP students connected after leaving campus in March 2020. However, when the project started in April 2020 it was difficult for students to produce content in their homes. 

UK Women’s Forum Announces 2021 Sarah Bennett Holmes Awardees

Four outstanding recipients who profoundly contribute to issues that affect women at the University of Kentucky and across the Commonwealth received the Sarah Bennett Holmes Award Tuesday, March 23, during a virtual awards ceremony. Christina Walker, staff winner; Hana Khamfroush, faculty winner; Mel Lesch, graduate student winner; and UK Department of Neurology's Wellness and Resiliency Committee, team winner, received the 2021 Sarah Bennett Holmes Award.